In 1993, British historical drama, Sharpe’s Rifles, made its debut on UK television via ITV. The TV movie – which starred Sean Bean – followed the story of Richard Sharpe, a Yorkshire soldier who along with his group of ‘chosen men’ make their way through Spain after they survive an ambush by the French cavalry.

Sharpe’s Rifles was based on the book of the same name by author Bernard Cornwell. The adaptation proved very popular with viewers, and soon another TV movie – Sharpe’s Eagle – soon followed.

Once again, this television movie was a hit with viewers, resulting in further adaptations throughout the 1990s and into the 2000s. These Sharpe movies became very successful in the UK and were also sold around the world where they found a whole new audience.

But how many Sharpe movies are there and in what order did they air? For all the details and more, keep reading.



The Sharpe TV movies in production order

Image: ©ITV

Between 1993 and 2008, 17 Sharpe movies were broadcast on television (the final instalment is divided into two parts). The movies – which all starred Sean Bean – were produced and aired in the following order:

  • Sharpe’s Rifles (1993)
  • Sharpe’s Eagle (1993)
  • Sharpe’s Company (1994)
  • Sharpe’s Enemy (1994)
  • Sharpe’s Honour (1994)
  • Sharpe’s Gold (1995)
  • Sharpe’s Battle (1995)
  • Sharpe’s Sword (1995)
  • Sharpe’s Regiment (1996)
  • Sharpe’s Siege (1996)
  • Sharpe’s Mission (1996)
  • Sharpe’s Revenge (1997)
  • Sharpe’s Justice (1997)
  • Sharpe’s Waterloo (1997)
  • Sharpe’s Challenge (2006)
  • Sharpe’s Peril: Part One (2008)
  • Sharpe’s Peril: Part Two (2008)

The 17 movies depict events in chronological order, covering a timeline that begins in in 1809 and runs through to 1817.



Thank you for stopping by It’s A Stampede! to read this post about the Sharpe television movies. For more posts, be sure to check out the recommended reads below.