In 1990, Charlaine Harris (author of The Southern Vampire novels), published the murder mystery novel, Real Murders. The book was the first in a collection of novels featuring librarian turned sleuth, Aurora Teagarden.

As the series developed, Harris continued to publish Aurora Teagarden books throughout the ‘90s, into the ‘00s, and then into the ‘10s. To date, there are 11 books in the series:

  • Real Murders (1990)
  • A Bone to Pick (1992)
  • Three Bedrooms, One Corpse (1994)
  • The Julius House (1995)
  • Dead Over Heels (1996)
  • “Deeply Dead” in Murder, They Wrote (1997)
  • A Fool and his Money (1999)
  • Last Scene Alive (2002)
  • Poppy Done to Death (2003)
  • All the Little Liars (2016)
  • Sleep Like a Baby (2017)

The popularity of the books didn’t go unnoticed and in 2015, the Hallmark Movies and Mysteries Channel turned the novels into a long-running collection of TV movies.

In this post I am going to take a look at the film series, to provide the running order. So, if you’re not sure if Dead Over Heels comes before A Very Foul Play, or you don’t know where Last Scene Alive falls in the movie collection, this post is for you.


The Aurora Teagarden Mystery movies in order

Image: ©Hallmark

The movie series focused on the character, Aurora ‘Roe’ Teagarden and began with two films, the first of which – A Bone to Pick – aired on the Hallmark Movies and Mysteries Channel in April 2015. This was shortly followed by the second film, Real Murders (which was based on the first novel) arriving in July 2015.

From here, the film series settled into a pattern of two new movies a year, with Three Bedrooms, One Corpse and The Julius House airing in 2016, and Dead Over Heels and A Bundle of Trouble hitting screens in 2017.

Image: ©Hallmark

In 2018, the movies settled into a new release schedule of three films per year, with Last Scene AliveReap What You Sew, and The Disappearing Game all arriving in quick succession. 2019 then saw the arrival of A Game of Cat and MouseAn Inheritance to Die For and A Very Foul Play.

In 2020, the thirteenth entry, Hide and Seek, hit TV screens, followed by the fourteenth, Reunited and It Feels So Deadly. Additional movies followed in 2021, including How to Con a Con, Til Death Do Us Part, and Honeymoon, Honeymurder.

An 18th entry was produced for 2022, called Haunted by Murder. This was followed in 2023 by a prequel movie called, Something New, which focused on Aurora’s early years.

Image: ©Hallmark

Across the first 18 movies, Candace Cameron Bure played the title character, alongside a cast that included Lexa Doig, Marilu Henner and Peter Benson. For the 19th movie, Skyler Samuels took over as the young Aurora.

If you want to watch the Aurora Teagarden Mystery movies in order then use the following list: 

  • A Bone to Pick (2015)
  • Real Murders (2015)
  • Three Bedrooms, One Corpse (2016)
  • The Julius House (2016)
  • Dead Over Heels (2017)
  • A Bundle of Trouble (2017)
  • Last Scene Alive (2018)
  • Reap What You Sew (2018)
  • The Disappearing Game (2018)
  • A Game of Cat and a Mouse (2019)
  • An Inheritance to Die For (2019)
  • A Very Foul Play (2019)
  • Heist and Seek (2020)
  • Reunited and It Feels So Deadly (2020)
  • How to Con a Con (2021)
  • Til Death Do Us Part (2021)
  • Honeymoon, Honeymurder (2021)
  • Haunted by Murder (2022)
  • Something New (2023)

If you’re a fan of Hallmark mystery movies or you just want a touch more Hallmark mystery-drama in your life, then you may wish to know that various Hallmark mysteries are currently available on DVD, including the Aurora Teagarden Mysteries Collection.

The Hallmark Aurora Teagarden Mysteries 18-Movie Collection includes a whopping eighteen movies, including films such as A Bone to Pick, Dead Over Heels, Heist and Seek, and How to Con a Con, amongst others.

The Hallmark Aurora Teagarden 18-Movie Collection is available from all good entertainment stockists, including Amazon US.


Disclaimer: I earn a commission for products purchased through some links in this article.