Based on a comic book character of the same name, Sabrina the Teenage Witch is an American sitcom which first hit screens in the mid-1990s. The show – which starred Melissa Joan Hart in the title role – followed the story of a teenage girl who performs spells after discovering she is a witch.

Each episode of Sabrina the Teenage Witch focused on Sabrina’s desire to use magic to solve problems in her life. However, as Sabrina soon found, taking shortcuts is never the answer, and many of her spells often led to trouble.

Upon making its debut, Sabrina the Teenage Witch built up a loyal following with audiences, reaching over 17 million US viewers at its peak. Over time, the show established itself as fan-favourite television and even to this day it remains popular.

But if you’re a complete newcomer to Sabrina the Teenage Witch, where do you begin?

With this post, of course!

Below, I am providing a run-through of Sabrina the Teenage Witch, detailing the viewing order for the shows and the movies. And yes, the franchise included more than just one show, so be sure to keep reading!



Understanding Sabrina the Teenage Witch

Image: ©Showtime

Sabrina the Teenage Witch first hit television screens on April 7th 1996 in the shape of a television movie, appropriately titled Sabrina the Teenage Witch. The film – which starred Melissa Joan Hart – aired on Showtime and followed the story of Sabrina Sawyer – a young girl who is sent to live with her aunts in the town of Riverdale, where she soon discovers she is a witch.

Due to the success of Sabrina the Teenage Witch, the TV movie prompted a follow-up. But rather than continue with another movie on Showtime, a decision was made to transport the character to a series instead, with the show appearing on ABC.

But before Sabrina could kick-start her own show, it was decided that changes needed to be made. While the movie had set up the basic premise of the character and the world around her, adjustments were needed if Sabrina was to start appearing on screens on a weekly basis.

With the exception of Melissa Joan Hart, the cast of the movie were to be replaced, with a whole new cast brought in. Changes to Sabrina’s character were also to be ushered in, including a surname change from Sawyer to Spellman.

Due to the significant overhaul of the property, and the presumption that many audiences would not have seen the movie, it was decided the show should ignore the film entirely. As such, the series would begin with an episode titled ‘Pilot’, which would see Sabrina learn she is a witch for the first time, essentially re-introducing the character as if the film had never existed.

Image: ©Viacom

The ‘pilot’ episode of Sabrina the Teenage Witch aired on September 27th 1996, around six months after the TV movie made its debut. The episode proved to be an instant hit with viewers and was followed a week later by the show’s second instalment.  

In total, 24 episodes of Sabrina the Teenage Witch aired between September 1996 and May 1997. All of the episodes performed well in the ratings, guaranteeing the show a second season.

Season Two made its debut in September 1997 and once again proved popular. As such, this guaranteed a further season, as well as a spin-off movie.

The movie was called Sabrina Goes to Rome. Starring just two regular cast members from the show – Melissa Joan Hart and Nick Bakay (the voice of Sabrina’s cat, Salem) – the film acted as a standalone tale that could exist largely outside of the show.

Sabrina Goes to Rome aired while Season Three was being broadcast. Both worked their magic with audiences, and a similar arrangement took place the following year, with yet another film, Sabrina Down Under, appearing on screens just as Season Four was getting underway.

After four seasons on ABC, Sabrina the Teenage Witch switched channels, finding a new home on the WB. Not only did this fifth season see the show move to a new network, Sabrina the Teenage Witch also got a little on-screen shake-up, with Sabrina leaving high school and her family home, in order to go off to college.

The fifth season began airing in 2000, with a sixth season following in 2001, and finally a seventh hitting screens in 2002. This seventh season would be the show’s last, and after 163 episodes, Sabrina’s journey came to an end.

Well, sort of.

Image: ©ABC

Although the live-action sitcom adventures came to a close, this wasn’t quite the end for Sabrina. The character remained on air in the form of animated tie-ins, specifically aimed at younger viewers.

Making its debut on ABC in September 1999, while Sabrina: The Teenage Witch was starting its fourth season, Sabrina: The Animated Series was designed as a prequel/reworking of the live-action series. In this take on the story, Sabrina is still in middle school, but she’s living with her aunts and still getting up to magical mischief.

For the show, Melissa Joan Hart provided the voices of Sabrina’s aunts, Hilda and Zelda, while Hart’s real-life sister, Emily Hart took over the role of the young Sabrina. In total, Sabrina: The Animated Series ran for one season, composed of 65 episodes.

The show was followed in 2002 by a spin-off movie, Sabrina: Friends Forever, with Britt McKillip taking over the role of Sabrina. Tina Bush voiced Zelda and Moneca Stori voiced Hilda.

The following year, the animated adventures continued with yet another show, Sabrina’s Secret Life. The cartoon aired between 2003 and 2004, running for a total of 26 episodes.

Including the original TV movie, the live-action show, the two animated shows, and the animated movie, Sabrina the Teenage Witch remained on air in some form or another for eight years.



Sabrina the Teenage Witch in order

Image: ©Viacom

If you wish to watch Sabrina the Teenage Witch in order, including the original TV movie, then please follow this list:

  • Sabrina the Teenage Witch (1996) – TV movie
  • Sabrina the Teenage Witch – Season One (1996 – 1997) – TV series
  • Sabrina the Teenage Witch – Season Two (1997 – 1998) – TV series
  • Sabrina Goes to Rome (1998) – TV movie
  • Sabrina the Teenage Witch – Season Three (1998 – 1999) – TV series
  • Sabrina Down Under (1999) – TV movie
  • Sabrina the Teenage Witch – Season Four (1999 – 2000) – TV series
  • Sabrina the Teenage Witch – Season Five (2000 – 2001) – TV series
  • Sabrina the Teenage Witch – Season Six (2001 – 2002) – TV series
  • Sabrina the Teenage Witch – Season Seven (2002 – 2003) – TV series

And should you want to expand your viewing to include the animated tie-ins, then add these to your list too:

  • Sabrina: The Animated Series – Season One (1999 – 2000) – Animated TV series
  • Sabrina: Friends Forever (2002) – TV movie
  • Sabrina’s Secret Life (2003 – 2004) – Animated TV series


If you’re a fan of Sabrina the Teenage Witch, you may be interested to know that all the episodes of the original live-action showare currently available on DVD in a neat little box set.

Sabrina the Teenage Witch – The Complete Series DVD Box Set includes all seven seasons of the show, covering 163 episodes.

Sabrina the Teenage Witch – The Complete Series DVD Box Set is available from all good entertainment stockists, including Amazon US.



Thank you for taking the time to stop by It’s A Stampede! to read this post about the viewing order for Sabrina the Teenage Witch – I hope it has proved useful. For more useful posts, be sure to check out the recommended reads below.

Read more:


Disclaimer: I earn a commission for products purchased through some links in this article.