In 1999, Universal Pictures released The Mummy – an action-adventure, fantasy remake of a 1932 black-and-white horror movie. The film starred Brendan Fraser, Rachel Weisz, and John Hannah, and told the story of three adventurers and their encounter with a resurrected (and cursed) high priest.

Due to the financial success of The Mummy, as well as the positive critical reception it received during its theatrical release, Universal Pictures greenlit a sequel, in the shape of The Mummy Returns (2001). In turn, this movie led to yet another sequel, 2008’s The Mummy: The Tomb of the Dragon Emperor, as well as a spin-off movie titled, The Scorpion King (2002), which starred Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson.

The Scorpion King developed its own following, and this led to a run of direct-to-video prequels and sequels. While the films had little to do with The Mummy movies, the Scorpion King pictures were set in the same universe.

Image: ©Universal Pictures

Between The Mummy and The Scorpion King franchises, Universal Pictures produced a total of eight loosely connected movies, released between 1999 and 2018. However, the films were not released in chronological order, meaning The Mummy/Scorpion King timeline is a little confusing.

Which brings me neatly onto the subject of this post: How in the heck do you watch The Mummy / Scorpion King movies in chronological order?!

Image: ©Universal Pictures

Well, if you wish to watch all eight Mummy/Scorpion King movies, and you wish to view them in timeline order, then you should watch them as follows:

  • The Scorpion King 2: Rise of a Warrior (2008)
  • The Scorpion King (2002)
  • The Scorpion King 3: Battle for Redemption (2012)
  • The Scorpion King 4: Quest for Power (2015)
  • The Scorpion King: Book of Souls (2018)
  • The Mummy (1999)
  • The Mummy Returns (2001)
  • The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor (2008)

If you watch the films in this order, you will see the history of the Scorpion King play out, before the series moves onto The Mummy movies (which then feature the Scorpion King in The Mummy Returns). This order will still be a little confusing, as multiple actors play the role of the Scorpion King throughout the collection, but this is the best way to view the films if you want to watch them chronologically.  



I hope this post about The Mummy / Scorpion King movies has proved useful. For more movie-related posts be sure to check out the recommended reads below.


Read more: