In 1930, Belgian cartoonist, Hergé (aka Georges Prosper Remi) published Tintin in the Land of the Soviets. The comic followed the story of Belgian reporter Tintin, as he was sent on an assignment to report on the policies of Joseph Stalin’s government.

Tintin in the Land of the Soviets was a hit with readers and was quickly followed by another entry in the series, Tintin in the Congo. Like its predecessor, this story was also a success and led to further adventures.

Over a 56-year span (1930 – 1986), 24 Tintin books were published, all under the banner heading of The Adventures of Tintin series. The books placed Tintin (and his dog, Snowy) in some fantastical situations, alongside some colourful and imaginative characters.

If you’re new to The Adventures of Tintin, don’t worry, you have plenty of time to catch up – all you need is a list of the stories to read, and then you can hunt them down! And that’s where this post can help, as it contains a list of all the Tintin books in publishing order.



A list of The Adventures of Tintin comic books in order

Image: ©Egmont

Below is a list of all the books in Hergé’s Tintin collection. The books include:

  • Tintin in the Land of the Soviets (1930)
  • Tintin in the Congo (1931)
  • Tintin in America (1932)
  • Cigars of the Pharaoh (1934)
  • The Blue Lotus (1936)
  • The Broken Ear (1937)
  • The Black Island (1938)
  • King Ottokar’s Sceptre (1939)
  • The Crab with the Golden Claws (1941)
  • The Shooting Star (1942)
  • The Secret of the Unicorn (1943)
  • Red Rackham’s Treasure (1944)
  • The Seven Crystal Balls (1948)
  • Prisoners of the Sun (1949)
  • Land of Black Gold (1950)
  • Destination Moon (1953)
  • Explorers on the Moon (1954)
  • The Calculus Affair (1956)
  • The Red Sea Sharks (1958)
  • Tintin in Tibet (1960)
  • The Castafiore Emerald (1963)
  • Flight 714 to Sydney (1968)
  • Tintin and Picaros (1976)
  • Tintin and Alph-Art (1986)

In addition to the 24 books listed above, Le Thermozéro is a story that Hergé considered for inclusion in the Tintin series. Le Thermozéro does not appear in the above list as it is unfinished and unpublished.



Thank you for stopping by It’s A Stampede! to read this post about the books in Hergé’s The Adventures of Tintin collection – I hope it has proved useful. For more comic-related content, be sure to check out the recommended reads below.

Read more: