In 1977, The Hills Have Eyes chomped its way into cinemas. The horror film, about a family targeted by cannibals in the Nevada Desert, was a box office hit and led to a series of films.

But how many The Hills Have Eyes films are there?


The Hills Have Eyes films in order

Image: ©Fox Searchlight

To date, there are four The Hills Have Eyes films. The films – produced between 1977 and 2007 – include:

  • The Hills Have Eyes (1977)
  • The Hills Have Eyes Part II (1985)
  • The Hills Have Eyes (2006)
  • The Hills Have Eyes 2 (2007)

Please note: In addition to the above list of movies, the 1995 film Mind Ripper (aka The Outpost) is sometimes referred to as The Hills Have Eyes III. However, this film is not an entry in the Hills Have Eyes series.


Are all of The Hills Have Eyes movies part of the same series?

The film series is divided as follows:

  • The Hills Have Eyes ‘77 and The Hills Have Eyes Part II are part of the same series. 
  • The Hills Have Eyes ‘06 and The Hills Have Eyes 2 are part of the same series.

Who are the cast of The Hills Have Eyes films?

Notable cast members in The Hills Have Eyes series include: Susan Lanier, Michael Berryman, Dee Wallace, Aaron Stanford, Kevin Spirtas, Ted Levine, John Bloom, Michael Bailey Smith and Michael McMillian.


Is The Hills Have Eyes series the work of the same director?

The Hills Have Eyes films are the work of multiple directors. Wes Craven directed The Hills Have Eyes ‘77 and Part II, Alexandre Aja directed The Hills Have Eyes ‘06, and Martin Weisz directed The Hills Have Eyes 2.


What is the best The Hills Have Eyes film?

According to IMDbThe Hills Have Eyes films are ranked as follows:

  • The Hills Have Eyes (2006) – 6.4/10
  • The Hills Have Eyes (1977) – 6.3/10
  • The Hills Have Eyes 2 (2007) – 5.1/10
  • The Hills Have Eyes Part II (1985) – 3.8/10

I hope this information about The Hills Have Eyes movie series has proved useful. Should you wish to know more about other long-running movie series, please check out one of the recommended reads below.

Read more: