In 1900, author L. Frank Baum published The Wonderful Wizard of Oz – a children’s fantasy story about a girl named Dorothy Gale, and her adventures in the Land of Oz. The book – which included characters such as the Tin Woodman, the Scarecrow, and the Cowardly Lion – was popular with readers and was soon followed by a second book, which continued the story.

Between 1900 and 1920, L. Frank Baum published 14 books in the Oz series. The books added additional characters to the series, and became beloved by readers.

From 1921 to 1939, the Oz books continued under the penmanship of Ruth Plumly Thompson. From here, an additional 19 books were added to the series.

Moving beyond these books, a collection of authors published Oz books, expanding the series over the years and decades that followed.

If you wish to read the Oz books for the first time, or you are looking to revisit them, then this post should prove useful. Below you will find a list of all the books in order, beginning with the stories by L. Frank Baum, and continuing with the Ruth Plumly Thompson tales and beyond.



The Wizard of Oz books by L. Frank Baum in order (1900 – 1920)

Image: ©MGM

Below is a list of the first 14 books in The Wizard of Oz series. These are the 14 books written by L. Frank Baum – the original author of the Oz series.

  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1900)
  • The Marvelous Land of Oz (1904)
  • Ozma of Oz (1907)
  • Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz (1908)
  • The Road to Oz (1909)
  • The Emerald City of Oz (1910)
  • The Patchwork Girl of Oz (1913)
  • Tik-Tok of Oz (1914)
  • The Scarecrow of Oz (1915)
  • Rinkitink in Oz (1916)
  • The Lost Princess of Oz (1917)
  • The Tin Woodman of Oz (1918)
  • The Magic of Oz (1919)
  • Glinda of Oz (1920)


The Wizard of Oz books by Ruth Plumly Thompson in order (1921 – 1939)

Image: ©MGM

Below is a list of the Ruth Plumly Thompson Wizard of Oz books.

  • The Royal Book of Oz (1921)
  • Kabumpo in Oz (1922)
  • The Cowardly Lion of Oz (1923)
  • Grampa in Oz (1924)
  • The Lost King of Oz (1925)
  • The Hungry Tiger of Oz (1926)
  • The Gnome King of Oz (1927)
  • The Giant Horse of Oz (1928)
  • Jack Pumpkinhead of Oz (1929)
  • The Yellow Knight of Oz (1930)
  • Pirates in Oz (1931)
  • The Purple Prince of Oz (1932)
  • Ojo in Oz (1933)
  • Speedy in Oz (1934)
  • The Wishing Horse of Oz (1935)
  • Captain Salt in Oz (1936)
  • Handy Mandy in Oz (1937)
  • The Silver Princess in Oz (1938)
  • Ozoplaning with the Wizard of Oz (1939)


The additional Wizard of Oz books in order (1940 onward)

Image: ©MGM

Below is a list of additional Wizard of Oz books. The following books were written by a collection of writers, including two further titles from Ruth Plumly Thompson.

  • The Wonder City of Oz (1940) – John R. Neill
  • The Scalawaggons of Oz (1941) – John R. Neill
  • Lucky Bucky in Oz (1942) – John R. Neill
  • The Magical Mimics in Oz (1946) – Jack Snow
  • The Shaggy Man of Oz (1949) – Jack Snow
  • The Hidden Valley of Oz (1951) – Rachel R. Cosgrove
  • Merry Go Round in Oz (1963) – Eloise Jarvis McGraw and Lauren McGraw Wagner
  • Yankee in Oz (1972) – Ruth Plumly Thompson
  • The Enchanted Island of Oz (1976) – Ruth Plumly Thompson
  • The Forbidden Fountain of Oz (1980) – Eloise Jarvis McGraw and Lauren McGraw Wagner
  • The Ozmapolitan of Oz (1986) – Dick Martin
  • Dorothy of Oz (1989) – Roger S. Baum
  • The Wicked Witch of Oz (1993) – Rachel Cosgrove Payes
  • The Runaway in Oz (1995) – John R. Neill
  • Lion of Oz and the Badge of Courage (1995) – Roger S. Baum
  • The Rundelstone of Oz (2000) – Eloise Jarvis McGraw
  • The Emerald Wand of Oz (2005) – Sherwood Smith
  • Trouble Under Oz (2006) – Sherwood Smith


If you’re a fan of the Wizard of Oz (and who isn’t?), then you may wish to know that the first 15 stories are available as part of a collection Oz books.

The set, The Wizard of Oz Collection: 15 Book Box Set, includes Ozma of Oz, Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, The Marvellous Land of Oz, The Road to Oz, The Emerald City of Oz, Rinkitink of Oz, The Tin Woodman of Oz, Tik-Tok of Oz, The Scarecrow of Oz, The Patchwork Girl of Oz, The Magic of Oz, Glinda of Oz, The Lost Princess of Oz, and The Royal Book of Oz.

The Wizard of Oz Collection is available from all good book stockists, including Amazon UK.


Thank you for stopping by It’s A Stampede! to read this post about The Wizard of Oz books – I hope the information has proved useful and helps you on your journey through Oz.

For more useful content, be sure to check out the recommended reads below.

Read more:


Disclaimer: I earn a commission for products purchased through some links in this article.