Black Widow marks the first big screen solo adventure for Natasha Romanoff. The former spy and Avenger – played by Scarlet Johnasson – has appeared as a guest star/ensemble character in Marvel movies since 2010, but in 2021 she is finally getting her own film.

The Black Widow movie will focus on an as-yet untold tale from Romanoff’s past, which takes place prior to the events of Avengers: Infinity War/Avengers: Endgame. It will provide further details about her character, as well as the heroes and villains she interacts with.

So, what do you do if you want to follow Natasha’s story through the Marvel Cinematic Universe, while including the Black Widow movie in the mix? Well, if that’s the case, then you need a list of all the Marvel movies that have featured Natasha Romanoff – like the list below – which set out a clear timeline for you to follow.



List of MCU movies featuring Black Widow

Image: ©Marvel Studios/Disney

The following list covers all of Black Widow’s Marvel movie appearances in chronological order:

  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • The Avengers (2012)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Black Widow (2021)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Captain Marvel (2019)*
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)

If you watch the above list of movies in this order, you will be able to follow Natasha Romanoff’s journey through the MCU, beginning with her introduction in Iron Man and concluding with her final moments in Avengers: Endgame. You will see her first adventure with the Avengers, and be able to watch her solo movie in the correct place in the MCU timeline.

*Please note: Black Widow’s appearance in Captain Marvel is very brief and takes place during a mid-credit scene at the end of the movie. Unless you are desperate to see a blink-and-you’ll-miss-it appearance (which is all it is), you can skip this movie, or you can just fast-forward to the credits.



If you’re a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (and who isn’t?), then you may wish to know that a book about Marvel’s first three phases has been published.

The book, Marvel Studios: The First Ten Years, includes two volumes, offering in-depth coverage of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, from its early days with Iron Man and The Incredible Hulk to the power house it quickly became with movies such as The Avengers and Black Panther. The 512-page tome is loaded with interviews from all the key players, as well as imagery from over 20 movies.

Marvel Studios: The First Ten Years is available from all good book stockists, including Amazon UK and Amazon US.


I hope this information about the Black Widow MCU movie timeline is useful to you. If you would like further information about long-running movie series, such as ‘What’s the best order to watch the Spider-Man movies?‘ or ‘How many Punisher films are there?‘, then take a look around It’s A Stampede!.

Alternatively, please check out one of the recommended reads below. Oh, and thanks for stopping by!


Read more:


Disclaimer: I earn a commission for products purchased through some links in this article.