In 1984, The NeverEnding Story arrived in cinemas. The mystical fantasy movie, about the imaginative world of Fantasia, captured the hearts of young audiences and led to a series of sequels.

But how many NeverEnding Story films are there?


The NeverEnding films in order

Image: ©Warner Bros. Pictures

To date, there are three NeverEnding Story films. The films – produced between 1984 and 1994 – include:

  • The NeverEnding Story (1984)
  • The NeverEnding Story II: The Next Chapter (1990)
  • The NeverEnding Story III: Escape from Fantasia (1994)

In addition to these three films, The NeverEnding Story has also been adapted for television as an animated series (also called The NeverEnding Story) as well as a live-action show from HBO, called Tales from the NeverEnding Story. The cartoon show lasted for one season between 1995/1996, while the live-action show comprised 13 episodes and aired between 2001/2002.

Image: ©HBO

If you live in the US, you may be more familiar with the live-action series as a collection of TV movies. In the States, the 13 episodes of Tales from the NeverEnding Story were divided into four TV movies:

  • The Beginning – Part 1
  • The Gift – Part 2
  • Badge of Courage – Part 3
  • Resurrection – Part 4

Are all of the NeverEnding Story movies part of the same series?

Image: ©Warner Bros. Pictures

All three big screen NeverEnding Story films are part of the same series, with events told in chronological order. The TV shows are not connected to the movies.

Who are the cast of the NeverEnding Story films?

Notable actors in the NeverEnding Story film series include Barret Oliver, Noah Hathaway, Tami Stronach, Alan Oppenheimer, Deep Roy, Jonathan Brandis, John Wesley Shipp, Jason James Richter, Jack Black, Tony Robinson, Kevin McNulty, William Hootkins and Mac McDonald.


Is the NeverEnding Story series the work of the same director?

Each film in the NeverEnding Story series is the work of a different director. Wolfgang Petersen directed The NeverEnding Story, George T. Miller directed The NeverEnding Story II, and Peter MacDonald directed The NeverEnding Story III.


What is the best NeverEnding Story film?

Image: ©Warner Bros. Pictures

According to IMDb, the NeverEnding Story films are ranked as follows:

  • The NeverEnding Story (1984) – 7.4/10
  • The NeverEnding Story II: The Next Chapter (1990) – 5.2/10
  • The NeverEnding Story III: Escape from Fantasia (1994) – 3.2/10

I hope this information about the NeverEnding Story movie series has proved useful. Should you wish to know more about other long-running movie series, please check out one of the recommended reads below.

Read more: