In 1997, author Lee Child (Jim Grant), published the crime thriller, Killing Floor. The book followed the story of fictional ex-army major, Jack Reacher, and proved to be popular with readers.

Due to the success of Killing Floor, Child published a second Jack Reacher book the following year. This was followed by a third a year later, then a fourth, and so on.

As the Jack Reacher stories grew in popularity, Child continued to publish more novels. The books were released on an annual basis, and expanded upon Jack Reacher’s story.

But what are all of the Jack Reacher novels? Well, if you are after a list of the books, then you have come to the right place.

This post contains a list of all the Jack Reacher novels to date. You will also find a list of the Jack Reacher novellas and short stories, as well as a list of The Jack Reacher Cases books.



The Jack Reacher novels in order

Below is a list of all the Jack Reacher books to date. This is presented in publishing order:

  • Killing Floor (1997)
  • Die Trying (1998)
  • Tripwire (1999)
  • The Visitor (UK)/Running Blind (US) (2000)
  • Echo Burning (2001)
  • Without Fail (2002)
  • Persuader (2003)
  • The Enemy (2004)
  • One Shot (2005)
  • The Hard Way (2006)
  • Bad Luck and Trouble (2007)
  • Nothing to Lose (2008)
  • Gone Tomorrow (2009)
  • 61 Hours (2010)
  • Worth Dying For (2010)
  • The Affair (2011)
  • A Wanted Man (2012)
  • Never Go Back (2013)
  • Personal (2014)
  • Make Me (2015)
  • Night School (2016)
  • The Midnight Line (2017)
  • Past Tense (2018)
  • Blue Moon (2019)
  • The Sentinel (2020)
  • Better off Dead (2021)
  • No Plan B (2022)


The Jack Reacher novellas and short stories in order

In addition to the Jack Reacher books listed above, Reacher has also appeared in a collection of short stories and novellas by Lee Child. The short stories and novellas include:

  • Second Son (2011)
  • Guy Walks into a Bar (2011)
  • James Penney’s New Identity (2011)
  • Deep Down (2012)
  • High Heat (2013)
  • Everyone Talks (2013)
  • Not a Drill (2014)
  • Good and Valuable Consideration (2015)
  • Small Wars (2015)
  • The Picture of the Lonely Diner (2015)
  • No Middle Name: The Complete Collected Jack Reacher Short Stories (2017)
  • Faking a Murderer (2018)
  • Too Much Time (2018)
  • The Christmas Scorpion (2018)
  • The Fourth Man (2019)


The Jack Reacher Cases

As well as the Jack Reacher novels, novellas, and short stories by Lee Child, Jack Reacher has inspired a line of books called The Jack Reacher Cases. These books are written by Dan Ames and include:

  • A Hard Man to Forget (2017)
  • The Right Man for Revenge (2017)
  • A Man Made for Killing (2017)
  • The Last Man to Murder (2018)
  • The Man with No Mercy (2018)
  • A Man Out for Blood (2018)
  • A Man Beyond The Law (2018)
  • The Man Who Walks Away (2019)
  • The Man Who Strikes Fear (2019)
  • The Man Who Stands Tall (2019)
  • The Man Who Works Alone (2019)
  • A Man Built for Justice (2019)
  • A Man Born for Battle (2019)
  • The Perfect Man for Payback (2020)
  • The Man Whose Aim is True (2020)
  • The Man Who Dies Here (2021)
  • A Man With Nothing to Lose (2021)
  • The Man Who Never Goes Back (2021)
  • The Man from the Shadows (2022)
  • The Man Behind the Gun (2023)


Thank you for stopping by It’s A Stampede! to read this post about the Jack Reacher books – I hope it has proved useful. For more useful posts, be sure to check out the recommended reads below.

Read more: