In 1931, Universal Studios released two movies based around Bram Stoker’s Dracula. One of the movies was an English-language picture directed by Tod Browning and starring Bela Lugosi as Count Dracula, while the other was a Spanish-language film directed by George Melford and starred Carlos Villarías as Conde Drácula.

Due to the success of the two Dracula movies, Universal Studios decided to push forward with another horror movie, this time based on Mary Shelley’s novel, Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus. Directed by James Whale, the film – simply title Frankenstein – was released the same year as the Dracula adaptations, and was once again a hit with audiences.

Spurred on by the popularity of these three horror movies, Universal continued with further productions in 1932, beginning with Murders at the Rue Morgue and following on with The Mummy. And as the years continued so did the movies, with the studio steadily building up a portfolio of frightening features, including the likes of The Invisible Man, Phantom of the Opera, and She-Wolf of London.

Universal carried on producing monster movies until 1956, when finally the bubble burst on its successful series. But over a 25-year period, the studio amassed a wealth of pictures, many of which are still adored by horror fans today.

Want to know what all of the Universal Studios Monsters movies are? Of course you do – and you simply need to read on for all the details.



A list of the Universal Studios Monsters movies in order

Image: ©Universal

Below is a list of all 41 Universal Monsters movies. The list begins with the two Dracula features released in 1931 and runs through to The Creature Walks Among Us, which hit screens in 1956.

As you will see from the list below, Universal brought a wealth of classic characters to the big screen across a 25-year period, with many of these titles ripe for revisiting. So, if you are looking for an old school monster movie to watch, one of these could be right up your street!

  • Dracula (1931) – English language
  • Dracula (1931) – Spanish language
  • Frankenstein (1931)
  • Murders in the Rue Morgue (1932)
  • The Mummy (1932)
  • Island of Lost Souls (1932)*
  • The Invisible Man (1933)
  • The Black Cat (1934)
  • The Bride of Frankenstein (1935)
  • Werewolf of London (1935)
  • The Raven (1935)
  • Dracula’s Daughter (1936)
  • Son of Frankenstein (1939)
  • Tower of London (1939)
  • The Invisible Man Returns (1940)
  • The Mummy’s Hand (1940)
  • The Invisible Woman (1940)
  • The Monster and the Girl (1941)*
  • Man-Made Monster (1941)
  • The Wolf Man (1941)
  • The Ghost of Frankenstein (1942)
  • Invisible Agent (1942)
  • The Mummy’s Tomb (1942)
  • Frankenstein Meets the Wolf Man (1943)
  • Captive Wild Woman (1943)
  • Phantom of the Opera (1943)
  • Son of Dracula (1943)
  • The Mad Ghoul (1943)
  • The Invisible Man’s Revenge (1944)
  • The Mummy’s Ghost (1944)
  • House of Frankenstein (1944)
  • The Mummy’s Curse (1944)
  • House of Dracula (1945)
  • House of Horrors (1946)
  • She-Wolf of London (1946)
  • Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)
  • Abbott and Costello Meet the Invisible Man (1951)
  • Creature from the Black Lagoon (1954)
  • Revenge of the Creature (1955)
  • Abbott and Costello Meet the Mummy (1955)
  • The Creature Walks Among Us (1956)

*Please note, of the movies listed above, Island of Lost Souls and The Monster and the Girl were originally produced by Paramount Pictures. These two films were later acquired by Universal and were then re-branded as Universal Monsters movies.

Image: ©Universal


Thank you for stopping by It’s A Stampede! to read this post about the Universal Monsters movies – I hope it has proved useful. For more posts, be sure to check out the recommended reads below.

Read more: