In 2003, the TV movie Love Comes Softly made its debut. The film – based on a book by Janette Oke – starred Katherine Heigel as a young widowed woman named Marty Claridge, who learns to find love again.

Love Comes Softly was a hit with viewers and led to a follow-up, which also featured Heigel. This movie was then followed by another entry, then another, and so on.

But how many Love Comes Softly movies are there?


The Love Comes Softly movies in order

Image: ©Hallmark Channel

To date, there are a whopping eleven Love Comes Softly movies. The Love Comes Softly movies are as follows:

  • Love Comes Softly (2003)
  • Love’s Enduring Promise (2004)
  • Love’s Long Journey (2005)
  • Love’s Abiding Joy (2006)
  • Love’s Unending Legacy (2007)
  • Love’s Unfolding Dream (2007)
  • Love Takes Wing (2009)
  • Love Finds a Home (2009)
  • Love’s Christmas Journey (2011)
  • Love Begins (2011)
  • Love’s Everlasting Courage (2011)

Are all of the Love Comes Softly movies part of the same series?

Image: ©Hallmark Channel

All eleven Love Comes Softly movies are part of the same series, with events largely taking place in chronological order. However, there are a few exceptions.

The breakdown is as follows:

  • Movies one through eight (aka Love Comes Softly to Love Finds a Home) are told in chronological order.
  • Movie nine, Love’s Christmas Journey is told at an unspecified time within the timeline, but sometime partway through the series.
  • Movies ten and eleven (Love Begins and Love’s Everlasting Courage) are prequels, with the events taking place before Love Comes Softly.

Who are the cast of the Love Comes Softly films?

Image: ©Hallmark Channel

Notable cast members in the Love Comes Softly film series include Katherine Heigel, Theresa Russell, January Jones, Cliff De Young, Erin Cottrell, Mae Whitman, Dale Midkiff, Patty Duke, JoBeth Williams, Sean Astin, Ernest Borgnine, Wes Brown, Bruce Boxleitner, and Cheryl Ladd.


Is the Love Comes Softly series the work of the same director?

Image: ©Hallmark Channel

The Love Comes Softly movies are the work of multiple directors. Michael Landon Jr. directed Love Comes Softly, Love’s Enduring Promise, Love’s Long Journey and Love’s Abiding Joy; Mark Griffiths directed Love’s Unending Legacy, and Harvey Frost directed Love’s Unfolding Dream. Lou Diamond Phillips directed Love Takes Wing, David S. Cass Sr. directed Love Finds a Home, Love’s Christmas Journey and Love Begins; and Bradford May directed Love’s Everlasting Courage.


What is the best Love Comes Softly movie?

Image: ©Hallmark Channel

According to IMDb, the Love Comes Softly films are ranked as follows:

  • Love Comes Softly (2003) – 7.4/10
  • Love’s Long Journey (2005) – 7.3/10
  • Love’s Enduring Promise (2004) – 7.1/10
  • Love’s Unfolding Dream (2007) – 7.1/10
  • Love’s Abiding Joy (2006) – 7.0/10
  • Love’s Unending Legacy (2007) – 7.0/10
  • Love Begins (2011) – 7.0/10
  • Love Takes Wing (2009) – 6.9/10
  • Love Finds a Home (2009) – 6.9/10
  • Love’s Everlasting Courage (2011) – 6.9/10
  • Love’s Christmas Journey (2011) – 6.5/10

I hope you are feeling the love regarding the Love Comes Softly film series. Should you wish to read more posts, please check out the recommended reads below.

Read more: