In 2004, National Treasure searched its way into cinemas. The family fantasy film about a historian turned treasure hunter, proved popular with viewers and led to a sequel.

But how many National Treasure movies are there?


The National Treasure films in order

Image: ©Disney

To date, there are two National Treasure movies. The films – produced between 2004 and 2007 – include:

  • National Treasure (2004)
  • National Treasure: Book of Secrets (2007)

Are all of the National Treasure movies part of the same series?

Image: ©Disney

Both films are part of the same series, with events told in chronological order.

Who are the cast of the National Treasure films?

Image: ©Disney

Notable cast members in the National Treasure film series include: Nicolas Cage, Justin Bartha, Diane Kruger, Jon Voight, Harvey Keitel, Sean Bean, Helen Mirren, Christopher Plummer and Ed Harris.

Are all the movies the work of the same director?

Image: ©Disney

Both National Treasure movies are the work of director John Turteltaub.

What is the best National Treasure film?

Image: ©Disney

According to IMDb, the National Treasure films are ranked as follows:

  • National Treasure (2004) – 6.8/10
  • National Treasure: Book of Secrets (2007) – 6.5/10

If you are a fan of the National Treasure movies, or you simply wish to try them out for the first time, you might be interested to know that both films are currently available in a twin Blu-ray box set.

The National Treasure Blu-ray box set is Region Free (so it will play on pretty much any Blu-ray player worldwide) and is available for all good retailers, including Amazon UK.


I hope this information about the National Treasure movie series has proved useful. Should you wish to know more about other long-running movie series, please check out one of the recommended reads below.

Read more:

Disclaimer: I earn a commission for products purchased through some links in this article.