In 1993, Leprechaun magiced its way into cinemas. The horror film – about a mischievous leprechaun – picked up a cult following and spawned a long-running movie series.

But how many Leprechaun films are there and what is the viewing order? Read on, and I’ll provide you with the details.


Leprechaun films in order

Image: ©Lionsgate

To date, there are eight Leprechaun films. The films – produced between 1993 and 2018 – include:

  • Leprechaun (1993)
  • Leprechaun 2 (1994)
  • Leprechaun 3 (1995)
  • Leprechaun 4: In Space (1997)
  • Leprechaun in the Hood (2000)
  • Leprechaun: Back 2 Tha Hood (2003)
  • Leprechaun: Origins (2014)
  • Leprechaun Returns (2018)

Are all of the Leprechaun movies part of the same series?

In some respects most of the Leprechaun movies are part of the same series… but they aren’t all connected… and it gets a little bit confusing.

Let me explain.

Leprechaun is the first entry in the series, with the events of the film set during the early 1990s. The film starred Warwick Davis as the titular character.

Davis returned for Leprechaun 2 & 3, which are also set in the 1990s, but don’t necessarily follow on from each other. All three films can effectively be watched as stand-alone entries with only Davis as the common link.

Davis once again reprised the role of the leprechaun for Leprechaun 4, but this time the setting was moved into space and the year 2096. As with the previous entries, this film bared little connection to what had come before.

The action then moved back to contemporary times for Leprechaun in the Hood and Leprechaun: Back 2 Tha Hood. These two films would mark the final time Warwick Davis played the title character.

In 2014, Leprechaun: Origins arrived and effectively acted as a reboot to the series. The previous (disjointed run of films) was abandoned and WWE wrestler, Hornswoggle took over from Warwick Davis.

In 2018, another Leprechaun movie was then released, but this time as a direct sequel to the 1993 original. Davis did not return and was instead replaced by Linden Porco.

So, in short, Leprechaun 1 – 6 are loosely connected, Origins is its own thing, and Leprechaun Returns is a direct sequel to the first movie. Got it?



Who are the cast of the Leprechaun films?

Image: ©Syfy/Lionsgate

The cast of the Leprechaun film series varies. Notable cast members include: Warwick Davis, Hornswoggle (Dylan Postl), Linden Porco, Jennifer Aniston, Clint Howard, Guy Siner, Ice-T, Coolio, and Sticky Fingaz.


Is the Leprechaun series the work of the same director?

The Leprechaun series is the work of a number of directors. Mark Jones directed Leprechaun, Rodman Flender directed Leprechaun 2, Brian Trenchard-Smith directed Leprechaun 3 and 4, Rob Spera directed In the Hood and Back 2 Tha Hood, Zach Lipovsky directed Origins, and Steven Kostanski directed Leprechaun Returns.


What is the best Leprechaun film?

Image: ©Lionsgate

According to IMDb, the Leprechaun films are ranked as follows:

  • Leprechaun 3 (1995) – 5/10
  • Leprechaun Returns (2018) – 5/10
  • Leprechaun (1993) – 4.8/10
  • Leprechaun 2 (1994) – 4.6/10
  • Leprechaun: Back 2 Tha Hood (2003) – 3.9/10
  • Leprechaun in the Hood (2000) – 3.7/10
  • Leprechaun 4: In Space (1997) – 3.5/10
  • Leprechaun: Origins (2014) – 3.2/10

I hope this information about the Leprechaun movie series has proved useful. Should you wish to know more about other long-running movie series, please check out one of the recommended reads below.


Read more: