In 1986, Clive Barker published The Hellbound Heart – a supernatural novella about a mysterious puzzle box. A year later, that novella was turned into a movie, directed by Barker.

The film – re-titled Hellraiser – kicked-started a successful series of films, largely centred around the iconic horror character, Pinhead, as well as the puzzle box, the Lament Configuration. But what is the best order to watch the Hellraiser movies?

Let’s take a look…


The Hellraiser film order

Image: ©Dimension Films

The Hellraiser films have been in regular production since 1987, beginning with Hellraiser which starred Doug Bradley in the role of Pinhead. A sequel, Hellbound: Hellraiser II followed in 1988, with Hellraiser III: Hell on Earth arriving in 1992, and Hellraiser: Bloodline appearing in 1996.

After the fourth instalment, Bradley remained a key fixture of the series as it progressed through a series of direct-to-DVD releases, beginning with Hellraiser: Inferno in 2000, and continuing with Hellraiser: Hellseeker (2002), Hellraiser: Deader (2005) and Hellraiser: Hellworld (2005).

Following the release of Hellraiser: Hellword, rumours began to circulate that the series was to be rebooted, through a remake of the original film, however, this project never came to pass. Instead of a remake/reboot, another sequel was hastily put into production to ensure Dimension Films could retain the rights to the series.

Image: ©Dimension Films

This next movie – Hellraiser: Revelations – was to be shot within a three-week timeframe, something which Pinhead actor, Doug Bradley did not believe would result in a good end product. As a result, he chose not to take part in the movie and the role was recast, with Stephan Smith Collins taking on the part of Pinhead.

A tenth movie arrived in 2018 – once again produced to ensure Dimension Films did not lose the rights to the series. Bradley was approached to appear in the movie, but once again he declined and was replaced this time by Paul T. Taylor.

If you wish to watch all of the Hellraiser movies in order, you should watch them as follows:

  • Hellraiser (1987)
  • Hellbound: Hellraiser II (1988)
  • Hellraiser III: Hell on Earth (1992)
  • Hellraiser: Bloodline (1996)
  • Hellraiser: Inferno (2000)
  • Hellraiser: Hellseeker (2002)
  • Hellraiser: Deader (2005)
  • Hellraiser: Hellworld (2005)
  • Hellraiser: Revelations (2011)
  • Hellraiser: Judgement (2018)

The first four films in this series were released theatrically and feature an ongoing story that is linked chronologically. The remainder of the series – Inferno to Judgement – was released straight to home video and does not adhere to a strict chronology.

Those looking to brave the series should know it is quite notorious for its uneven quality. Hellraiser: Bloodline and Hellraiser: Revelations in particular are known for being weak entries.

You’ve been warned.


Thanks for stopping by to read this post about the Hellraiser movie series. Should you wish to know about more iconic horror series, such as The Exorcist, The Omen, or A Nightmare on Elm Street, please click on the highlighted links.

Alternatively, please check out one of the recommended reads below.

Read more: