Based on the popular computer game series of the same name, Resident Evil is a collection of horror movies about a zombie apocalypse. The series contains multiple entries and collectively has proven very successful at the box office, becoming the most profitable game-to-film series of all time, crossing the $1 billion mark in the process.

The lead character in each film is Alice, a former covert operative played by Milla Jovovich. Alice appears in every entry in the series, with each film furthering her story and her connection to the Umbrella Corporation – a pharmaceutical company behind the main events of the films.

The RE series began in 2002 with the Paul W. S. Anderson-directed, Resident Evil, before continuing in 2004 with the first sequel, Resident Evil: Apocalypse. The series then continued with Resident Evil: Extinction (2007), Resident Evil: Afterlife (2010), Resident Evil: Retribution (2012) and the concluding instalment, Resident Evil: The Final Chapter (2016).

Throughout the course of the series, Paul W. S. Anderson directed four of the six movies. He wrote all six.


The Resident Evil movie viewing order

Image: ©Screen Gems

The Resident Evil movies were released in chronological order. Should you wish to view the films, then simply follow this list:

  • Resident Evil (2002)
  • Resident Evil: Apocalypse (2004)
  • Resident Evil: Extinction (2007)
  • Resident Evil: Afterlife (2010)
  • Resident Evil: Retribution (2012)
  • Resident Evil: The Final Chapter (2016)

If you watch the movies in this order you will be introduced to Alice, you will see the trials and tribulations that she under takes, and eventually you will learn the mystery surrounding her character.

Read more: