Marvel Studios has published an official timeline for the movies set within the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). So, if you’re been wondering ‘what order should I watch the Marvel movies in?’, you now have an answer!

Well, sort of.

Marvel has published this timeline to correct some of those problems, by moving some movies around a little.

Does this new timeline work?

Not exactly. There are still discrepancies and the timeline also doesn’t take into account any of TV shows set in the MCU, but hey ho, it’s a guide, it’s official, so get used to it!

Anyway, here is timeline as featured in the new book Marvel Studios: The First 10 Years (via ScreenRant).

1943-1945: Captain America: The First Avenger
2010: Iron Man
2011: Iron Man 2, The Incredible Hulk, Thor
2012: The Avengers, Iron Man 3
2013: Thor: The Dark World
2014: Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
2015: Avengers: Age of Ultron, Ant-Man
2016: Captain America: Civil War, Spider-Man: Homecoming
2016 – 2017: Doctor Strange
2017: Black Panther, Thor: Ragnarok, Avengers: Infinity War, Ant-Man & the Wasp*

*For some reason, Ant-Man & the Wasp was missing from the list, but the film’s first post credit scene indicates this entry takes place around the same time as Avengers: Infinity War.


According to Marvel this is the chronological order for the movies. As you can see, Captain America: The First Avenger is the first entry in the timeline (spanning an MCU time period of two-years).

So, is this the best order to watch the Marvel movies in?

Well, it’s debatable as to whether or not this is the best order to watch the Marvel movies in. You could of course stick to production order, which isn’t too different from the list above.